Diet Thoughts

One of the things I have been avoiding writing about recently is probably the one thing that I should be writing about the most.  For the last week I have been ravaged with thoughts of starting a diet. I have gained a couple pounds over the top of my “comfortable fat” weight. I woke up yesterday with these thoughts stronger than ever. I toiled over ways to cut calories without dieting. I racked my brain for ways to explain to my readers that I was going to start a diet. And I eventually moments before eating, I decided that if I wanted to start a diet, I didn’t have to do it right then. I proceeded with breakfast as usual. I had muesli that I had made the night before with Bob’s Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli, greek yogurt and a splash of milk. I topped it with a banana and a little honey.  It was really tasty and satisfying.

muesli

muesli

Work was much calmer than it had been and I was able to work at a nice pace without panic of not getting it all done. Before I knew it, I looked at the clock and realized that I was about to miss the staff lunch. I knew it was salad bar day and I had two choices, run downstairs RIGHT THEN or wait 10 minutes and have to PAY for lunch. OK, clearly I chose the less expensive option. I ran downstairs and found the picking to be slim, there was just enough left for me. I filled my plate with lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, cukes, grilled chicken, a little egg salad and a little chicken salad. I asked the chef intern for a slice of wheat bread and some of that delicious ponzu dressing and I was on my way. A hearty and filling lunch.

salad bar day

salad bar day

Shortly after lunch, I had about 4 sips of my homemade latte but I had been having some fluttering in my chest all day and that seemed to make it worse so I didn’t finish it.  ***Edited to add: The fluttering in my chest is related to an ear infection, I believe. Not heart related at all, the fluttering was in the upper part of my chest near my throat. End of edit*** G came upstairs around 2 and wanted to break chocolate and today, I was in the mood for it. I had a little less than half of a frozen snickers bar and it was really good. It had been years since I had one!

kers

kers

The afternoon flew by and it was time to go home in what felt like minutes. Once home, I heated up some beef and bulgur casserole and steamed some asparagus. I topped the asparagus with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper. It was a fantastic meal, it was comforting and delicious.

comfort food

comfort food

After dinner, we just kind of hung around and watched some television. I went to bed early because I knew a long day was ahead of me at work. At least it would be Friday.

4 Responses

  1. Fluttering in your chest?? Eek, be careful with that!!

    Good luck at work, and have a very happy Friday!! :0)

  2. I think I should edit that, I think it is related to an ear infection which I plan to see the doc about. It was NOT in my heart but still uncomfortable and scarey. I thought the ear thing was related to the sinus infection but maybe not. I have been taking antibiotics and the ear isn’t getting better.

  3. Yea, be careful with that.

    I’d forgo the diet. Just make sure that you’re only eating when you’re hungry and stop eating when you’re a little less full than normal. That and a few more minutes exercise and you’ll be back in your comfortable range in no time.

    Just my two cents though! 😉

  4. It’s so hard. I’m feeling the same way–though you have been inspiring me to stop dieting. The problem is, my clothes are a bit uncomfortable, and it’s making it hard for me to keep not-dieting. I think to myself, “crap–I need to stop eating carbs or whatever because I can’t afford new clothes.”

    I think that the end result, though, would be worse. I hate dieting, and I end up disliking myself when I do diet.

    Hang in there. Put on some comfy yet cute clothes and treat yourself well. TGIF!!

Leave a Reply

