Just Two Years Ago

Oh, what a relief yesterday was. I woke up feeling much better than I had in days and I was determined to keep it that way. I started out with some wheatberries, oats and bulgur mixed with flax seed and then topped with a banana and some PB & Co. white chocolate dreams PB. The PB was good but it didn’t really taste like white chocolate, it kinda tasted like Jiff. It has been years since I had eaten PB that wasn’t all natural so maybe that influenced what I thought. It was really really sweet but it went nicely with my hot cereal and banana. I also had a glass of milk to wash it all down.

kinda like jiff

kinda like jiff

When I got to work, things were in full swing. I had a huge day ahead of me, I had been feeling very behind as a number of special projects were bogging down my daily work. I knew that I could get myself caught up if I really stayed off of the internetfocused. While being knee deep in work, I received a lovely bouquet of flowers for the dear husband. We had met each other just two years ago, the happiest years of my life.

happy anniversary

happy anniversary

Shortly after I got the flowers, it was lunch time. I ordered the lunch special. It was a lovely seared pepper ahi tuna salad with ponzu dressing. I also had a slice of whole wheat bread on the side. The combo was very filling, I was actually only able to finish about half of the salad. It was a shame to see that second piece tuna go to waste but better for it to go to waste than to my waist.

peppered ahi tuna salad

peppered ahi tuna salad

good carbs

good carbs

 

Shortly after lunch, I had one of my homemade cinnamon lattes, it really it the spot and got me through a long afternoon. I ended up staying late again but the result of all my hard work was being able to leave without a long to do list on my brain. To celebrate our “dating two years married 4 months” anniversary, we met for sushi. We started with edamame and then some calamari.

edamame

edamame

calamari

calamari

 

After the appetizers, we ordered three rolls for the two of us. We got a volcano roll, a lobster roll and a calamari with spicy tuna roll. All of it was awesome. We haven’t really had the time lately to get out to sushi as much as we like, the chef even asked where we had been. So, this was nice treat and a great way to celebrate.

volcano roll

volcano roll

calamari with spicy tuna roll

calamari with spicy tuna roll

lobster roll

lobster roll

spicy mayo for the side

spicy mayo for the side

 

Once we were home from dinner, I had a madjool date to cure my sweet tooth. I had never had a date before so this was a new experience. I’m not sure if I liked it or not, on some bites I thought I did and others I wasn’t sure. I need to figure out a good use for them other than eating them straight. Ideas are welcome, of course.

a date, the food kind

a date, the food kind

Around 9ish, I felt was seemed like stomach growling. I didn’t think it could be hunger but it was persistent. Finally, I decided that it must be hunger so I made dear husband and I a treat. A grilled chocolate dreams PB and cherry jam sandwich of 100% whole wheat bread. I had my half along with a glass of milk. It was fantastic!! The PB was warm and melty and the jam was still jam like but started to blend with the PB. Oh, it was a good little bedtime treat.

how good does that look?

how good does that look?

Shortly after our snack, we headed off to bed. I went to sleep very thankful for a peaceful, productive and happy day.

10 Responses

  1. So glad that you’re feeling better – keep it up!!

    Wishing you two many MORE years together!! :0)

    Your medjool date looks dried out – be sure to buy them fresh and refrigerate them (which maintains their caramel-like flavor and texture).

    Your grilled sandwich looks INSANELY delicious – yum!!

  2. i’m so glad you had a good day – you deserved it. the sushi looks sensational, and what a lovely bouquet! happy anniversary!

  3. VeggieGirl, that is the way the whole package looks and we just bought them this weekend. And I didn’t know to put them in the fridge, thanks for the advice! I guess I should keep my eyes open for something different?

  4. Hey you – congrats on the 2 year celebration!

    DH introduced me to grilled pb&j sandwiches once we got married. They are SO good.

    I’m definitely going to have to try it with that chocolate pb.

  5. A date for a date. Hehe. 🙂

    There is nothing better than sushi. If only I could afford to eat it everyday!

  6. Happy anniversary! And what lovely flowers from your husband!

    I normally don’t eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches but the one you made looks absolutely delicious!

  7. Flowers are always a nice surprise. Glad you enjoyed the day!

  8. Hi there!

    Just stumbled upon your blog while doing some surfing and wanted to tell you that I think it’s wonderful 🙂 I’m somewhat new to the blog sphere and I really enjoy the passion some of you food bloggers have for food – very inspiring!

    Also, as far as the issue of dates goes, my advice is to slice it down the middle, take out the pit, and stuff it with peanut butter (preferably crunchy natural) Amazing!

  9. Dates and peanut butter. Absolute favorite treat as a kid!

  10. happy anniversary! 😀 sushi is a great way to celebrate, indeed! it all looks sooooo delicious! and so does your cherry jam sammie! mmmmmmmm!

    as for the medjool dates – i love to enjoy mine with walnuts halves stuffed inside. they’re so tasty! or, for the ultimate treat, spread some almond butter on a medjool date and oh my goodness – it’s heaven to me!

Leave a Reply

