A Chocolate Bar Will Not Fix It

Boy, what a hard few days. Yesterday, I woke up with puffy swollen eyes from all the tears, a massive headache and the general desire to sleep all day. But, I knew that wouldn’t really help anything so I got up and proceeded with my day. For breakfast I had wheatberries, oat and bulgur mixed with flax seed and topped with a banana and some PB & Co chocolate dreams. That stuff should be illegal, really. I also had a glass of milk to wash it all down.

should be illegal oatmeal

should be illegal oatmeal

Once I got to work, I got the advice from the blogospehere and a message board that I frequent to contact the animal control about Callie. I called and left a message and as of yet, I still have not heard back. Once I had the Callie news off my chest, I got to work on a busy busy day. Golf World is a madhouse these days and my desk is loaded with work. That is good though, plenty to keep my mind off of all the negative things going on.

Around 11, I had to run out and do some errands for work and I planned to pick up lunch. My stomach had been growling for a while, I decided to go ahead and have a snack. I had a Kashi Crunch bar, the chocolate and caramel one. While I was eating it, I was thinking that it was actually a form of emotional eating. Sure I was hungry, but hunger is tolerable and lunch was right around the corner. And with all the bad stuff going on, the hunger just didn’t feel tolerable. I was tired of being uncomfortable. I did enjoy the Kashi bar, in fact, I bought more while I was out. This makes up for the Kashi roll experience, for sure.

now that is good

now that is good

While out, I picked up lunch for T and I. I got brown rice tuna dynamite roll and a fresh veggie spring roll. Because I had eaten the Kashi bar, I wasn’t really that hungry and for the first time in history, I didn’t finish it all. I gave the rest the the chef intern in the kitchen, he seemed very happy to receive my gift of sushi.

brown rice tuna dynomite roll

brown rice tuna dynomite roll

fresh veggie spring roll

fresh veggie spring roll

 

After lunch, the afternoon sped by, so much so that I knew I would have to stay late. I started to get hungry again and knew that I wouldn’t be home until really late so I decided to have some greek yogurt with blackberries. I had really intended to have that as my morning snack but that never really happened. I was pretty tasty though I thought the berries could have been a smidge sweeter.

greek yogurt and blackberries

greek yogurt and blackberries

Once I finally left work, I arranged for dear husband to prepare dinner. I had planned to make stuffed shells but my hunger wasn’t waiting that long. So, we had an archers farms BBQ chicken extra thin crust pizza. It has chicken, BBQ sauce, onions and cheese, a really tasty combo. Along side we had spinach and baby romaine salads with rice vinegar. It all really did the trick, it was indulgent but not too over the top.

BBQ chicken pizza

BBQ chicken pizza

After dinner, I was exhausted, I had been running on four hours of sleep and it was really catching up to me. And along with that, I am getting over a sinus infections so my body really just wanted to rest. We watched a little tv and I think I was out by 8. A long hard day had finally come to an end.

13 Responses

  1. I wish that there was a way to make all of this easier for you :0(
    PLEASE hang in there, and be sure to get enough rest.

    Haha, love the title of your oatmeal – definitely looks too good to be true! :0)

    At least 2 other bloggers have eaten that same Kashi bar within the past two days, haha – I used to eat that flavor all the time too, before I became a vegan.

    I saw your comment on my blog – I recommend the following pancake recipes:

    http://theppk.com/recipes/dbrecipes/recipe.php?CourseID=37

  2. Just letting you know that I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with all of this.

  3. Thank you both!

    K, I’ve been meaning to add you to my blogroll. Off to do that now!

  4. that sushi looks delish!

    as far as emotional eating goes, i think you are doing wonderfully cinsidering everything that you’re going through, and one kashi bar soon before lunch is completely and totally ok in my books… for what it’s worth 🙂

  5. Crunchy kashi bars are not available in Canada. -sigh-

  6. I agree with mi. That’s pretty darn amazing that you still ate very, very healthfully during all of this. Take some time to pat yourself on the back. 🙂

    Best of luck with everything.

  7. Thanks, so much. I really needed to hear that because I have really felt like going off the food deep end!

  8. I think you’re doing great. Really, you are. The urge to binge is very strong when you are upset, and not letting yourself get too hungry is actually a very smart thing. Since you naturally moderated on the amount of lunch you ate, it seems to me that you are doing a fine job of listening to your body.

  9. I agree that you have been doing a great job eating healthy with all the upsetting news you have been dealing received lately.

  10. Whoops, sorry for the errors in my last comment.

    I meant to say “with all the upsetting news you have received lately.”

  11. C, I agree with everyone, you’re doing great. Hang in there.

    – Heather

  12. you are….and I know Im echoing the masses…TAKE CARE OF YOU FIRST and then blog for us 🙂

  13. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

