In Memory of Paul

Yesterday started out pretty good. I slept in a little, I woke up around 7. It took me forever to decide what I wanted for breakfast and I finally settle on pancakes. I did a little twist of my oat and flax pancakes and made nutty oatmeal pancakes. I  topped them with a fruit puree I made out of Sarah’s homemade cherry jam, a ripe banana and a very ripe nectarine and then I had a little pure maple syrup on the side. I served them with scrambled eggs made from 1 egg and 2 egg whites. This was a hearty and satisfying meal.

nutty oatmeal pancakes

nutty oatmeal pancakes

Shortly after breakfast, I received some tragic news. The Pro informed me that Paul, our golf staff intern, lost his life in a car accident on Saturday. Paul was 22 years old. I only knew him for a short time but his death struck me so deeply. I lost my brother at the age of 25 to a terrible car accident and this really hit home for me. I feel such deep sympathy for his family and hope that they can come to a place of peace with their tragic loss. It has been almost four years since I lost my brother and losing Paul brought all of those feelings to the surface. All day long I thought of Paul on a golf cart meanwhile thinking of my own brother and his goofy faces. I guess it hit home for me yesterday that the grief doesn’t end, it just changes. I know what Paul’s family is going through and I hope they will find some comfort.

After the news of Paul’s death, I needed something to take my mind away from all of it. Dear husband and I decided to go for a really long walk. We walked just over six miles between our neighborhood and the one across the street. The walk felt long and somber. When we got home, I made lunch. Dear husband wanted pigs in a blanket so I made them with reduced fat crescent rolls and low fat turkey kielbasa. I ended up eating way more than I should have. I ate four of them along with a small salad with seasoned rice vinegar.

salad

salad

pigs in a blanket

pigs in a blanket

 

Lunch was followed my housework and cooking. While preparing some meals to pack into the freezer, I gave one of them a taste. It is called beef and bulgur casserole and it is really really good. It kind of took me back to childhood as it tastes like a cross between rice a roni and chili mac. But in a healthy way.

make ahead meals

make ahead meals

For dinner, I made a lentil loaf from vegetarian times. It took almost 2 hours to prepare from start to finish so this was definitely a Sunday dinner kind of thing.

Veg Times lentil loaf

Veg Times lentil loaf

According to the recipe, you should serve it with garlic and herb mayo but I couldn’t get to my basil plants because it was pouring rain and hailing outside.

holy storm

holy storm

So, I made a pesto mayo instead. I just mixed some already prepared pesto with some olive oil mayo. I served the lentil loaf with the mayo, garlic mashed potatoes and peas. It was all pretty good though, I don’t know that the taste value was worth the effort value. I actually think the pesto mayo is what made it.

Sunday Dinner

Sunday Dinner

Shortly after dinner, we decided to have some ice cream. I had a small bowl of lemon pie ice cream from the local ice cream shop. They make all of the ice cream on site, it is the richest most divine ice cream I have ever had.

lemon pie ice cream

lemon pie ice cream

A couple tv shows later and I was off to bed. I was really not looking forward to going back to Golf World, I knew it would be a sad place to be. Rest in Peace, Paul.

11 Responses

  1. Oh my! I forgot to note that I grew those tomatoes on that salad myself!

  2. I am so sorry about the news of Paul’s death, and also to hear of your brother passing so soon.

    On a brighter note, those pigs in a blanket look so awesome and yummy. And it is really cool that you grew your own tomatoes!

  3. Oh my goodness, I’m terribly sorry for your loss – my thoughts and prayers are with you.

    You grew those tomatoes yourself?? Fabulous!! My garden died this year, so I’m envious, haha :0) And your nutty-oatmeal pancakes sounds delicious as well!!

  4. Thanks, I appreciate the thoughts and prayers.

    Veggie girl, I am so gonna try to make vegan pancakes. I love making pancakes and your baking is tempting me to try the vegan thing!

  5. The foods look delicious….sorry to about your loss.

  6. So sorry to hear that. That’s never easy.

    Well, hopefully making some of that yummy food helped you through yesterday. Best of luck today.

  7. im so sorry about your loss. but i appreciate how much you open up on this blog and share your true feelings. also, those pancakes look soooo good. you must have gone nuts over them ;o)

  8. i feel weird because I want to tell you how sorry I am that you lost someone (and so young) but at the same time, I’m thinking about how good you make all this food look. Thanks for the latter and my thoughts are with you on the former…

  9. Thanks so much. This post was really hard for me to write because I felt odd focusing on my food choices when there is so much else going on. But, I made the decision that this blog is about my life and my food choices and sometimes bad things happen. I have to be honest and accept that these things are a part of and will continue to be a part of life.

  10. I agree with WeightingGame. I first wanted to tell you I am sorry for your loss, but then I saw your lentil loaf and wanted to tell you how good it looks. I guess that is the point of food blogging, food always happens and so does life.

    – Heather

  11. i am so sorry to hear this news… it is always so heart breaking when you hear about lives being ended so unexpectedly short. i hope everyone at the golf club can be a comfort to each other.

    your pancakes look exceptional, as does everything else – i hope it was relaxing for you to cook these good meals.

Leave a Reply

