Chocolate and Spice

When the alarm went off at 4:50 yesterday, I really didn’t want to get up but I told myself I would feel better if I worked out before work. So, I got up and walked for 30 minutes on my treadmill followed by yoga.  I was craving guidance with my practice so I decided to do a yoga download instead of a free flow. I did yoga download 25 minute morning flow. I enjoyed this flow as it included lots of my favorites including warrior II, cresent lunge and, of course, shoulder stand. The most exciting part of the practice was doing my very first full wheel! I used blocks but I did it. I have been trying for a couple of weeks now and the feeling of getting into it was amazing! It really started my day off of the right foot!

By the time I was doing moving my body, I was hungry. I mean stomach rip roaring growling hungry! I heated up a bowl of overnight oat bran, in the bowl was 1/3 cup oat bran, 1 cup milk, 1 tbsp ground flax seed, 1 mashed banana, 1 tsp of brown sugar and a pinch of salt. I added some water to thin it out and then topped it with cashew macadamia nut butter and a few chocolate chips. We are calling this bowl overnight elvis oat bran :)

food-018

Work was productive and lunch time came fast. We didn’t do our usual Monday routine and instead, T and I packed lunch. I brough whole wheat couscous, a texas veggie burger, ripeavocado chunks, colorful pepper chunks and bbq sauce. It all seemed like a weird combination but it turned out wonderful! I loved it!

food-0012

For lunch dessert # 1, I had this juicy orange

food-0021

and for lunch dessert # 2, I had a reese’s heart.

food-0032

In the late afternoon, I dove into my snack so fast I almost forgot to photograph it. I had my usual greek yogurt with berries.

food-0041

For dinner, the dear husband and I met at Ukrop’s since I was meeting with my new therapist at 6. I had crab salad on a whole wheat pita,

food-0052

three bean salad

food-0063

and a ghiradelli chocolate caramel square.

food-0072

Therapy went well though she was heavy on the perfume. My regular therapist is out of maternity leave so I have a temporary one for three months. I connected with her right away which I was really thankful for. Her approach is very different that my regular therapist but I think I will take well to it. It is essential for me to have a solid treatment team while I go through my group therapy and I think this new therapist will be a strong foundation.

When I arrived home, there was a package waiting for me! Mara at I Made Dinner sent me an array of Penzy’s spices for winning the BSI a couple of weeks ago. In the package was my beloved florida seasoning, cake spice, zatar seasoning, greed goddess dressing mix and sicilian salad topper. I can’t wait to dig into all of them!

food-0083

After chatting with Mara for a bit, I was feeling hungry. I had a small bowl of cocoa pebbles with milk that really hit the spot. Shortly after, I was in bed with my book.

food-0092

Question: What have you accomplished lately that makes you feel proud? For me, it is getting into wheel pose, for sure!

20 Responses

  1. HOORAY!!! I’m so glad you like your penzeys!!!
    My big accomplishment lately is starting my own blog domain…its a buncha work and i DID IT!

  2. Yum, yum, yuuuuum!!!

    Accomplishment = becoming stronger and healthier.

  3. Love your elvis oatbran!

    What cool spices. I am curious about the cake spice!

  4. Great spices!! I’ve never heard of some of them!!

  5. Would you mind posting the recipe for your three bean salad? It looks really tasty!

    Latest accomplishment? My last piece of writing for my Memoir class. I wrote it much too quickly, but I was proud of the outcome and look forward to revising.

  6. yum – your lunch does look great!

    those spices sound awesome. I need to order some stuff from Penzey’s.

    Latest accomplishment? Doing yoga yesterday when I couldn’t run instead of not doing anything :)

  7. The oats look delicious! Awesome spices.

    Congrats on wheel. An accomplishment? Sounds weird, but taking the time to get my ankle feeling all better was an accomplisment for me!

  8. The three bean salad looks so good!

    The spices sound great!

  9. KUDOS for getting up that early to move yo body! I pat myself on the back when the alarm goes off at 6:30 LOL. Your oats look amaaaazing-and thanks for the kind words for my voice!!

  10. That crab salad looks fantastic!

  11. I would have enjoyed eating your day. :-)

    I’ve seen oat bran mentioned on several sites, so I bought some for the first time yesterday. I’ve had it twice now, and I think I’m in love! Yum! I love getting new food ideas from all of you awesome bloggers! Speaking of which, I’m glad to hear that you are stocked up on this week’s BSI! I can’t wait to get your recipe!!

    One more thing: I went to law school in Williamsburg at William and Mary, and I miss Ukrop’s so much!! What a great grocery store. I used to love going there! I’m so jealous. ;-)

  12. Great eats! I guess you could call it an accomplishment that I have developed a solid habit of planning ALL my meals for the week and then shopping for only what I need to make them. It saves me a lot of money, and that’s very necessary right now!

  13. Getting up to 80 minute runs, no idea of the distance though!

  14. Again, all your eats look AMAZING! You’re gonna love your Penzey spices – they’re my favorite!
    I’m proud of the training I’ve been doing for my first 10k on Saturday. Even though, I didn’t have the tenacity to stick to the 6 days a week working out the schedule calls for, I’ve established a workout regimen that works for me and that I actually look forward to! It’s turned working out into a chore or a hassle into something I do for me because there’s a real enjoyment for it.

  15. Great job on the wheel! I love your food too..especially the cocoa pebbles. :) Me and cereal…

    My accomplishments..definitely losing the weight I have so far and most recently, my running. I never thought i would be able to run longer than 3 minutes, so I feel pretty good about how far I have come..and theres plently further to go!

  16. That’s the kinda breakfast I like!

  17. I just came across your blog and I have to say I love it and I love the food photos. Wow you could be a photographer for food magazines.

  18. Your lunch looks delicious.

  19. OH WOW, where can i find those cocoa pebbles?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

